I am generally NOT a very good cook, I can cook somethings but anything outside my standard dishes is always a dangerous experience – for me, because I normally lose control and end up rushing things and I will possibly burn or cut myself and for G because 95% of the times dinner ends up not being that great.

However after I cook the same dish a couple of times I can come close to perfection. That happened yesterday (Yay!) when I cooked fried chicken filet with caramelized onions, rice and veggies. The star of the dish were the onions, and Oh my they were good!

I will give you the recipe but I am terrible with measurements, here we go:

1 Big onion finely sliced

1 clove of garlic sliced

olive oil

1/2 a cup chicken stock  (not sure it is exactly half a cup, it’s enough so the onion gets wet, but you don’t want to put too much and end up having a sauce)

Olive oil in the pan (about 2 table spoons),
Add onion and let it fry until soft, should take about 5 minutes – stir the onion every now and again so it cooks evenly
Add a little of the stock and let it fry until brown (5  minutes again)
Add chicken – if cooking chicken
Add garlic slices
Add a bit more stock
Cook for more 10 to 15 minutes

The onions will look burn, have a taste before you decide you should throw them away.

